Doctorate = Doctorgate

Patti gate

The ornate new gated entryway to South Campus from Cabana Road will be named in honour of St. Clair President Patti France. 

The college’s Board of Governors surprised France with the honour during its June 28th meeting. 

In addition to recognizing her 35-years-long career at St. Clair, the past seven as its President, the naming celebrates the honorary doctorate that was recently awarded to France by Windsor’s Assumption University. That paid tribute to her many contributions to postsecondary education in the community. 

The gated entrance and mini-park on Cabana (still under construction) will be plaqued as The Dr. Patti France Community Promenade. 

France is pictured, above, unveiling a depiction of the new signage with Board Chair Egidio Sovran. 

Also during the final meeting before the Board of Governors’ “summer recess”, the annual “changing of the guard” took place. 

Former Vice-Chair Jean Piccinato has stepped up to become the Board’s Chair for the coming year (2022-23). She is the Executive Director of the Amherstburg Family Health Team. 

The newly chosen Vice-Chair is Gary Rossi, the Vice-President of Water Operations of ENWIN Utilities. 

Stepping down from the Chair position, and completing his years-long term as a Board member, is Egidio Sovran. He will, however, continue to serve the Board as an advisor, special project overseer and ex-officio (non-voting) Governor. This arises from a new policy adopted by the Board: 

“To support succession planning of the Board, the immediate Past Chair will serve as an ex officio non-voting member of St. Clair College Board of Governors. The Past Chair must have completed their Board term in order to be eligible for this role. The Past Chair will oversee special projects as delegated by the Board, and performs other duties as assigned, for a maximum of two years.” 

Also departing the Board at the June meeting, having completed their terms-of-office, were Melanie DeSchutter (the representative of the college’s administration), external (community member) Governor Teresa Bendo, college support staff rep Tammy Wonsch, and student rep Navjeet Singh 

DeSchutter will be replaced as the admin rep by Art Barron, Wonsch as the support staff rep by Paula Corro-Battagello, and Singh as the student rep by Michael Beale. 

Pictured, below, France with Sovran and Piccinato; and Singh, France, Sovran, Piccinato, DeSchutter and Bendo.


• Year-end financial details: 

• College’s energy conservation efforts: 

• New high-tech programs next fall: 

• Low domestic enrolment report: 

• College in good shape for new provincial funding formula: 



Gid retire
Board retire